Peak Edge Group of Schools (PEGs)

Peak Edge Group of Schools (PEGs) 

Hayfield Primary School is part of the Peak Edge Group of Schools which is a formal collaboration that brings together twelve schools with the aim of improving educational opportunities for the young people of the area. The 13 schools, within a three-mile radius of each other, include a nursery school, a primary with a nursery, a secondary school, a Catholic school, a C of E school, an infant school, and numerous smaller primary schools.

The schools in and around New Mills formed a local cluster over 15 years ago and have a history of working well together across a number of areas from sport to shared resources. As headteachers have come and gone, new heads have been welcomed into the cluster and, now, to a more formal, collaborative method of working.  

With the current educational landscape constantly shifting, PEGS will continue to look to the future and to its role in supporting systems leadership across this area of rural Derbyshire, in order to positively influence the education of children in the wider community.

Our Vision

PEGS: our sharing, caring community; stronger together




The aims of PEGS are to:                                                                     

Build our capacity to raise standards of teaching and learning for all pupils in all our schools aged 3 -18 through:

  • offering high quality, inclusive and enriching learning experiences
  • creating a supportive, collaborative community that promotes professional development
  • driving improvement in all our schools, creating a strong culture of collective responsibility
  • using the economies of scale of PEGS to achieve cost effective services, including training and development and maximise use of resources

If you would like to find out more about the work of PEGS please follow the links below.

PEGS Case History 

PEGS Memorandum of Understanding

PEGS Development Plan

PEGs Structure


Buxworth Primary

Combs Infants

Furness Vale Primary

Hague Bar Primary

Hayfield Primary

New Mills Nursery

New Mills Primary

New Mills Secondary

Newtown Primary

St George’s CofE Primary

St Mary’s Catholic Primary

Thornsett Primary

St Luke’s (in Glossop)

High Peak Kids Council (HPKC)

Our children are also involved in collaborative ways of working.  Each school elects two school councillors to form part of the HPKC.  This Council meets half-termly to work on community developments and fundraising initiatives, e.g. HPKC Summer Fair.

Take a look at their website by following this link: HPKC website